History CUBS:

Founded as the Faculty of Commerce, the Business School’s history stretches back over 150 years, to the formation of UCC as Queen’s College Cork, part of the Queen’s University Ireland, in 1845. In 1909 the first meeting of the Faculty of Commerce took place at the University to discuss the BComm which commenced in 1910. The degree programme was structured to enable students to take a certificate followed by a diploma before progressing to the BComm itself.

In 1914 the Faculty agreed to introduce a Masters qualification, the MComm which commenced in 1915. In awarding this degree a student was required to present an account of their experience in industry or commerce, vouched for by the owner or manager.

The first Dean of the Faculty was Professor Smiddy until the early 1920’s.  The position was then held by Professor Busteed for 40 years until this death in 1964. 

The BComm continued as the only undergraduate degree of the Faculty until the early 1990’s.  As the Faculty grew so did the range of departments and professorships. In 1981 Professor Wrigley of the Department of Management and Marketing led developments in the MBA programme which now celebrates its 25th anniversary.  

New differentiated degrees and undergraduate degrees commenced in 1993 including the BSc (Accounting), BSc (Finance) and BSc (Business Information Systems) and the range of degrees at undergraduate and postgraduate level increased.  Today we offer over 10 undergraduate programmes including a number jointly delivered with the College of Science, Engineering, Food Science and the College of Arts, Celtic Studies and Social Science.  We also offer a broad range of postgraduate studies at higher diploma, postgraduate diploma, taught masters, masters by research, PhD and DBA.

Since its foundation, the business school has developed significantly in size and reputation, offering students unique qualifications both in Ireland and internationally, ensuring students can contribute immediately in the business and industry sectors. At the Cork University Business School (CUBS) we continue to innovate and develop our programmes and offerings and build a research strategy which supports high impact research across each of our disciplines.

History UCC:

UCC was established in 1845 as one of three Queen’s Colleges - at Cork, Galway and Belfast. These new colleges were established in the reign of Queen Victoria, and named after her.

Queen's College, Cork (QCC) was established to provide access to higher education in the Irish province of Munster. Cork was chosen for the new college due to its place at the centre of transatlantic trade at the time and the presence of existing educational initiatives such as the Royal Cork Institution and a number of private medical schools.

On 7 November 1849, QCC opened its doors to a small group of students (only 115 students in that first session, 1849-1850) after a glittering inaugural ceremony in the Aula Maxima (Great Hall), which is still the symbolic and ceremonial heart of the University.

From 1850, QCC was part of the Queen's University of Ireland and, from the 1880s, of the Royal University of Ireland. QCC grew during that that time, adding land and buildings, increasing student numbers and developing deep links throughout Munster and into the world beyond. By the beginning the twentieth century however, it was clear that higher education in Ireland required a new arrangement to permit the next stages of development. That change came in 1908 through the National University of Ireland (NUI), of which the former QCC, now University College Cork (UCC) is a founding member.

Since 1908, UCC has grown - from 115 students to over 20,000, from one building to dozens, from less than 20 staff to more than 1,600 today. Since 1997, UCC have become an university in their own right within the NUI, but retain the UCC name as part of heritage of learning since 1845.

Read More on the history and heritage of UCC.